My spaceship is full of art

It's lovely, darling! (Fanart, Fanfics, Pony or not Pony. If you're creative, post here!)

Moderator: Fizzbuzz

princess spaceship

My spaceship is full of art

Post by princess spaceship (?) » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:18 am

Welcome back to my magical world of art and sewing. I've been drawing since I was at least 5 years old, which was also the only year that I ever took formal art lessons. It's not that I didn't enjoy art class; it was just too expensive for my family, & by the time it became a separate subject in grade school I decided to take more socially engaging classes like band (no regrets). So my informal art education is just years of doodling in notebooks, thinking up strange hybrid creatures, & drawing from photographs and real life. I started playing with watercolors almost 2 years ago as part of a reading-art challenge.

As far as the sewing goes, my mom (an avid quilter) taught me some of the basics back in high school and the rest has been gleaned from books, tutorials, and lots of practice. When I started watching MLP back in 2012 I decided to learn how to sew my own pony, using patterns from Voodoo Tikki. I made an Apple Bloom, Pinkie Pie, and a tiny AJ that I never really finished. When my daughter got interested in Pokemon over a year ago, I decided to try my hand at sewing some of those, too. I started off testing patterns that I'd found through browsing Pinterest, then I would tweak patterns that used some of the shapes that I figured a plush would need, and eventually I started devouring tutorials on how to design my own patterns. It's been a ton of work, but I love seeing my kids and their friends playing with what I make.

Since I don't want to clog up this post with a ton of images of past work, check out this gallery for some of my favorite works over the past few years.

Anyway, new forums, new thread, new projects!

princess spaceship

Re: My spaceship is full of art