The Year of Our Lord MMXXI in Video Games

Ooh, I love fun things! (Games, both video and traditional, discussion. looser posting styles allowed)

Moderator: Fizzbuzz

Mechanical Ape
Not slim, definitely shady

The Year of Our Lord MMXXI in Video Games

Post by Mechanical Ape (?) » Wed Dec 15, 2021 4:01 pm

I guess it's close enough to the end of the year to start this. What did you play this year? Did you like it?

-------

Wildermyth: This is easily my favorite and most-played game of 2021, which you probably guessed if you noticed I'm LP'ing it right now. Outstanding writing which takes your heroes' personalities and relationships into account, so a scene feels very different depending on your party even if mechanically, the same stuff happens. Wonderful webcomic-style cutscenes tying together overworld adventuring and XCOM-style combat. The worldbuilding and stories are top-notch. Endlessly replayable for me.

Inscryption: Well, I'm just getting started but yeah I'm liking it. No spoilers, please.

The Hex: I figured since I'd played Pony Island and own Inscryption, I should also spend time with another Daniel Mullins title. This is ... what is this? It's a bar for washed-up video game characters, and tonight someone will be murdered. Genre-bending as you play each character in turn. Overloaded with references to everything from Cooking Mama to The Beginner's Guide.

Genesis Noir: What we've got here is an art game with a capital A. The Big Bang as told as a film noir detective story? I can't say I understood it all at the end, but it was an interesting enough ride. Kentucky Route Zero vibes.